Home > Alumni


  • Dr Wilheminah Makhambeni

    Dr Ntethelelo MjoliDr Wilheminah Makhambeni

    Neurocritical Care Fellow

    MBBCh Wits
    FC Neurosurg (SA)



  • Dr Johan Malan

    Dr Ntethelelo MjoliDr Johan Malan

    Senior Registrar

    MBChB Stell




  • Dr Ntethelelo Mjoli

    Dr Ntethelelo Mjoli  Dr Ntethelelo Mjoli

    Chief Registrar

    MMed UCT FCNeurosurg (SA)

    Dr Mjoli completed his undergraduate degree at the University of Natal in 2002 and worked in rural practice prior to taking up a position as a medical officer in Neurosurgery at Inkosi Albert Luthuli Hospital in Durban. He joined the UCT Division of Neurosurgery as a registrar in 2009 and was the first registrar to pass his MMed dissertation before taking his Fellowship exam. This study on arteriovenous malformations was presented at the AANS Annual Meeting in 2012 and subsequently published in Interventional Neuroradiology.

    Nte has an interest in Minimally Invasive Surgery as well as neurosurgical Spine.

    His spare time is spent with his wife and two sons.

  • Dr Edwin Mogere

    Dr Ntethelelo MjoliDr Edwin Mogere

    Chief Registrar

    MBChB Nairobi
    MMed Aga Khan

    Dr Mogere obtained his basic medical qualification (MBChB) from the University of Nairobi, Kenya and holds an MMed in General Surgery from the Aga Khan University in Nairobi, having completed a thesis on day care surgery service at the same hospital. After 6 months as an Instructor and Programme Co-ordinator in the Department of Surgery at the Aga Khan University Hospital, Nairobi, he joined the Division of Neurosurgery at UCT as a supernumerary registrar in 2009.

    He recently passed the FCNeurosurg(SA) exam and is currently focused on reviewing pediatric traumatic brain injuries at the Red Cross War Memorial Children’s Hospital as part of his MMed Neurosurgery thesis. Edwin has an interest in neurocritical care and cerebrovascular neurosurgery with a special focus on endovascular interventions with a commitment to skills transfer back to his home country.

    Edwin is happily married to Patricia and enjoys snorkeling, geopolitical history and rugby in his off days, and the outdoors everyday!


  • Dr David Roytowski

    Dr Ntethelelo MjoliDr David Roytowski

    Senior Registrar


    Dr Roytowski joined the Division of Neurosurgery in 2009, following a five-year hiatus from practicing medicine. He holds an undergraduate medical degree from UCT and an MBA from INSEAD. Following his MBA he worked as a Strategy Consultant for the Monitor Group.

    Apart from the routine responsibilities of a Neurosurgery registrar, he has the dubious honor of scheduling colleagues’ on-calls. He has completed an MMed thesis, which evaluated the department’s performance of endoscopic third ventriculostomies as management for hydrocephalus, for which he received the International Abstract Award from the AANS in 2013.

    He is keen to see the Division’s development of deep-brain stimulation capabilities and, in time, focus attention on peripheral nerve injuries.

    David is a proud father of daughters Leah and Kate, and shares the rest of his time participating in pro bono consulating engagements, kiteboarding or jogging along the beachfront promenade.


  • Dr Chris Young

    Dr Ntethelelo Mjoli Dr Chris Young

    Medical Officer

    MSc DPhil Oxon

    Dr Young received his medical degree from the University of Cape Town. After internship at Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital and community service on the Cape Flats, he trained as a neuroscientist in Francis Szele’s lab at the University of Oxford where he was a Rhodes Scholar. For his doctoral thesis, he investigated endogenous neural stem cells in the subventricular zone and their response in experimental stroke.

    Pursuing a career in academic neurosurgery, Chris would like to combine clinical medicine and basic science in a manner relevant to our developing context.

    In his spare time, he enjoys the outdoors, scuba diving and running and can often be found on Lion’s Head.